Columbia still not among counties moved to 'yellow'

Last updated: May 8, 2020 - 5:45pm

HARRISBURG —  Governor Tom Wolf announced Friday that 13 Pennsylvania counties in the state's southwest will move to the yellow phase of reopening  Friday, May 15.

Those counties include Allegheny, Armstrong, Bedford, Blair, Butler, Cambria, Fayette, Fulton, Greene, Indiana, Somerset, Washington and Westmoreland.

Montour and Northumberland counties were among the 24 counties that entered the yellow phase today. Columbia was not, a Health Department spokesman said, because of outbreaks at two nursing homes and a food processing plant. It has remained in the red phase, despite its increase in cases slowing to under four a day in recent days.

Thursday evening, Wolf and Secretary of Health Dr. Rachel Levine signed new orders that extended the red phase counties' stay-at-home order until June 4. But the governor's office said in a press release Friday that did not mean other counties won't move to the yellow phase before June 4.

For all breaking news alerts and updates, follow us on Twitter.

Last Updated: January 7, 2021 - 6:19pm

Ben Philips of Bloomsburg headed to Washington, D.C. early Wednesday morning, hoping to witness President Donald Trump announcing that he had won the election. 

Over the previous...


Last Updated: January 1, 2021 - 4:00pm

LOCUST TWP. — A fast-moving fire engulfed a two-story farmhouse Friday morning, destroying the home and everything inside.

But even before the blaze was extinguished, a good...


Last Updated: December 28, 2020 - 2:12pm

BUTLER TWP. — Erica Shultz, 26, had gone on dates with Harold David Haulman III, so when he surprised her at her home Dec. 4, she agreed to go with him, court papers say.